Mathochism: A full-time job

One woman’s attempt to revisit the math that plagued her in school. But can determination make up for 25 years of math neglect?

It’s official: I’m obsessed with Calculus.

Over the last few days, I have stayed up until 1 a.m. puzzling over problems. Even when I finally crawl into bed with my snoring spouse, I can’t sleep, because I can’t figure out why a function has a cusp just from a graph. Or why some graphs have vertical tangent lines, while some don’t.

Why???

In previous classes, I went to lectures, then studied at home. Now, I’m making a standing date with the Calc Prof at his office hours before class. I have plans to make one non-class day a Calc day, going to one seminar in the morning, lunch, then doing work in the smelly math lab (if I’m over-optimistic and it’s a nice day, I may work out at the college’s athletic center), then going to a second seminar, this one run by the Calc Prof.

Journalism career? What journalism career? Marriage maintenance? Uh, sure — what? Cleaning the house or running errands? BWAHAHAHA. I’ve got stuff to derive! Theorems to memorize!

Our second test is little over a week away, and I am determined to pass it. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go. All this blogging is keeping me from learning how to apply the chain rule.

All text copyrighted by A.K. Whitney, and cannot be used without permission.

One comment

Leave a Reply

