Mathochism: This is the end, my friend

One woman’s attempt to revisit the math that plagued her in school. But can determination make up for 25 years of math neglect?

My math quest is over. I got half-way, but cannot continue.

Why? I was bested by my stupidity with computers and California’s budget crunch. I went to a geometry class tonight, hoping to add it, though I knew it was full. 30 others had the same idea. We all got there early, hoping a spot would open up. Eight did.

Much pushing and shoving ensued, as people tried to grab a piece of paper from a cap. If the paper had a dot on it, you were in. My paper was dotless. I’m out.

I suppose I could try the experiment again tomorrow, in the class I actually enrolled in, paid for, then dropped very foolishly. But I won’t. I made a silly mistake, reached too high, and fell on my face. It’s a life lesson.

Why are life lessons always so fucking hard?

Depending on how things go, I may pick up the math again next year. Whether it will be at the same college remains to be seen. I’ll never be too old to try and conquer my math demons.

All text copyrighted by A.K. Whitney, and cannot be used without permission.

One comment

  • Well, I hope your quest is simply delayed, not permanently over. I assume you can always try again next semester. And perhaps after a good night’s sleep, you may reconsider whether you want to try for a spot in the other section this semester. If not, perhaps you might consider doing some self-study this semester that could help prepare you for the course next semester. (I also don’t know if you have options available to study Geometry for credit elsewhere this semester, and either transfer the credit, or at least place out of the requirement next semester.)

    In any case, I respect the journey that you have taken so far, and the way you have shared it on this blog. I hope that you will find a way to carry on.