Mathochism: Woohoo!

One woman’s attempt to revisit the math that plagued her in school. But can determination make up for 25 years of math neglect?

Some things are worth the wait. Uchitel finally returned our tests today, and I didn’t scrape a B, as expected. I got an A! An A-, true, but it would have been a solid A had I not had a brain fart and written down the symbol for parallel when I meant perpendicular on one of the problems. My carelessness cost me two points, lowering my 95 to a 93.

Still, I was among the high scores in class, and Uchitel wrote “Good!” by my grade. As far as I’m concerned, that’s as satisfying as a gold star. And speaking of gold stars, I don’t remember my first and second grade teacher (I had the same teacher for both years in my Italian elementary school) giving them out. Rather, she would write “Bene” for average work, “Brava” for good work, and “Bravissima” for excellent work. Oh, how I longed for those “Bravissimas”!

Back to geometry, though, we have another test next week. Thankfully, it’s not on Tuesday, as says on the syllabus, since we are still behind. (I curse that damn flex day for setting us back.) However, I get the feeling Uchitel may schedule it for Thursday, and so I plan to put in some quality studying time, and flashcard-making time, so I’ll feel less frazzled.

Proofs still stymie me a bit, and we now have more postulates and theorems to remember. We’ve also studied corollaries, which I think of as baby postulates, and lemmas, which seem to be baby theorems. There’s a lot to keep track of.

Triangles in particular seem to involve a lot of special rules. They’re not complicated, but I confess I had a hard time understanding why there had to be an Angle Angle Side postulate as well as an Angle Side Angle one. But now I get the difference between involved and uninvolved sides. Which means triangles with commitment issues clearly favor Angle Angle Side.

(Note to self: do not get involved with such triangles, they can only lead to pain!)

Well, no time to rest on my laurels. I must get back to studying. But this feels like a good start.

All text copyrighted by A.K. Whitney, and cannot be used without permission.

2 comments