Mathochism: All about circles

One woman’s attempt to revisit the math that plagued her in school. But can determination make up for 25 years of math neglect?

Spring break is over, and it’s back to the math.

We were greeted by an unexpectedly mellow and very tan Uchitel, who spent last week in a tropical paradise. Understandably, he had not brought the last test with him to said paradise, but he told us he had looked at it and that “you did well.” I hope I’m included in that collective you!

Then, we were introduced to circles. I vaguely remembered terms like radius and diameter, and completely forgot about chords and inscribed and circumscribed angles. Circles are apparently more complex than I imagined. Well, maybe I knew that, but before this, I couldn’t be arsed enough to care.

We did two circle proofs in class, and I surprised myself by solving them quite easily. Could it be that I’m really getting this at last? There were a few befuddled classmates who went in a weird direction, but I wasn’t one of them. And speaking of befuddled, Befuddled Girl and the Arguer were not in class. Could it be they dropped it? The deadline for withdrawal just passed. It would be a relief, since class without them was very restful, and Uchitel covered a lot.

I expect I will get the bad news my test back next class. I hope the results won’t be too disappointing. At least I seem to be back on track now.

All text copyrighted by A.K. Whitney, and cannot be used without permission.

2 comments

  • We did two circle proofs in class, and I surprised myself by solving them quite easily. Could it be that I’m really getting this at last?

    Yes. And, speaking for myself, I know how awesome I feel when I figure something out that I couldn’t have figured out six weeks ago. That is the feeling of progress.

    *offers a fist-bump of congratulations (or whatever sign of congratulations you prefer)*

  • Thanks! Progress feels good!