Mathochism: Dasvidanya, Uchitel!

One woman’s attempt to revisit the math that plagued her in school. But can determination make up for 25 years of math neglect?

Geometry has been over for two days now, and it feels a bit strange.

I don’t know how I did on the fourth test. I’m not sure how I did on the final. There were no surprises, but there were too many proofs for me to feel comfortable.

I still haven’t entirely got the hang of proofs, and don’t know if I ever will. Does this mean the math phobe in me won’t ever die?

I will miss Uchitel. I really wish he, or the dapper or dour professors, were teaching pre-calculus. Of course, the Brofessor is teaching it this fall. What a shame.

Anyway, the geometry experience was far less painful this time. Despite my proof hate, I learned a lot. And in 11 days, it begins again.

Bring it on, math bitchez.

All text copyrighted by A.K. Whitney, and cannot be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

