Mathochism: Oscillating to nowhere

One woman’s attempt to revisit the math that plagued her in school. But can determination make up for 25 years of math neglect?

Under the compass of Damocles We moved into new (or newish for me) territory today with limits. I really liked the way the the calc professor explained it, because it seemed very clear. Now, I realize I’m scarred from the Calc Dementor, but I do wonder if it would have seemed as clear had this been my first time around.

Perhaps. She did several examples, and they weren’t the simplest, either. She incorporated absolute value and root functions, which always feel uncomfortable to me. We graphed several problems, and she did the obligatory limit of sin 1/x DOES NOT EXIST problem.

We also went over right- and left-handed limits. After class, I spent an hour in the math lab doing homework. It didn’t feel hard, and I find myself worrying about that. Calc Dementor scars? Or am I setting myself up for another semester of oscillating towards nowhere?

All text copyrighted by A.K. Whitney, and cannot be used without permission.