NaJuBloWri: On writing every day

I am a writer, and writers write, right? And yet, I have been very remiss about adding anything to my blog except quick promos of other published work in the last year and a half.

Don’t get me wrong, getting paid to write, especially stories I am passionate about, is the dream. And I’ve been really living it the last few months, with work in magazines I’ve admired for years. Getting published has also encouraged me to keep pitching, and to aim high, even if I get rejected.

Still, it’s time to pull my socks up and do something about my lack of blog. I read about NaBloWriMo, which takes place in October and encourages bloggers to write something every day. But I don’t want to wait until then, so I’m doing this in July, and plan to write something every day. And any shameless self-promotion counts!

This doesn’t mean I won’t keep looking for paid work, or working on The Book (amazing sample chapter, I’m coming for you!). I’m looking at this like the literary equivalent of an amuse bouche, something that will hopefully get the creative juices flowing.

Now, here’s a photo from the amazing show I saw last night in Las Vegas, “Le Reve.” It is the topic for tomorrow’s post. Happy NaJuBloWri!
lareve