Words to live by

Sometimes, people try to destroy you, precisely because they recognize your power. Not because they do not see it, but because they see it and do not want it to exist.
–bell hooks

A new acquaintance posted the above quote on social media today, and it really resonated. I’ve come across people like this in my life, not just in school or at work, but in closer, less transitory settings.

In fact, several alleged friends and blood relatives seemed to operate in this fashion, always taking pleasure in squashing me like a bug at every opportunity. I have managed to cut most of these toxic people out of my life. The ones that remain are very far away, and I tell them nothing, or at least nothing about what’s important to me. Why give them ammo?

It depresses me that it has to be like this. Nor do I understand what makes people act this way. All I know is that I will fight to the end to make sure I never become one. I hope I don’t fail.

All text copyrighted by A.K. Whitney, and cannot be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

